Filthy Feminists taking our jobs…..

3 Apr

So David Willetts,  conservative minister for universities, has declared that feminism has robbed working class men of jobs and stifled social mobility.  http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2011/apr/01/david-willetts-feminism-lack-of-jobs  I must admit reading his comments I have been convicted of my own heinous crimes in seeking an education, securing work, hoping to be a positive influence within my community and bringing up my children in partnership with my husband.  I now know that the young people I meet who are faced with a continued bleak future without work, debilitated by lack of prospects and left feeling hopeless, are in that position because I am a feminist.  I have inflicted this on them – I have robbed them of vocational opportunities, taken their study allowance, raised university fees, closed factories and taken the very jobs they aspired to have.  I have married above my station in marrying another earner and thus left the country with a legacy of non-earning households.  It is my beliefs, in terms of inequalities still encountered by women in salaries, prospects and work distribution (to name just a few), that have led to working class men trapped by social immobility. 

I must surrender now for the sake of these men – chomping at the bit for my jobs, ever so anxious to climb the social ladder to my dizzying heights of success.  I must stay at home now with my babies, wash more clothes, clean more floors, cook more meals and give up the fight for any kind of fairness.  Maybe our newest addition – Eden Lindsell Wells – 9lb 5 – 26 / 03 / 11 – will change me from raving feminist to 50s housewife overnight…………………………………….or maybe not.  David Willetts I think your social analysis lacks some depth.

6 Responses to “Filthy Feminists taking our jobs…..”

  1. Jenny Baker April 3, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    What a great response – thanks Ruth!

  2. Lee April 4, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    Ruth, as a woman, you have a choice; go out to work or stay at home and became a homemaker. Being a man I don’t have that choice, therefore my needs in the workplace should take precedence…but they don’t.

    • ruthwells April 4, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

      Lee
      Thank you for your comment. I am not sure what your own situation is so don’t feel I can respond appropriately to you as an individual.
      My own situation, as with many others, is that I do not have a choice economically whether or not I work. My husband has in fact been more of the ‘homemaker’ in our bringing up children due to a number of reasons. I feel I should be able to work and have something to offer to the labour market and to wider society. My husband has a lot to offer in terms of childcare and being at home as well as working and so we find this balance suits us as a family.
      Thanks for taking the time to comment : )

      • Lee April 4, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

        Yes Ruth,you have a choice, and that’s good. Many men don’t have a choice though.

  3. Jo April 23, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    Brilliant! Thoroughly enjoyed reading this response – despite my stomach slowly churning throughout the read – I don’t think I could cope with reading the actual article!! Thank you – Jo

    • ruthwells April 23, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      Thank you Jo. The actual article is indeed stomach churning!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

