Feminist Jesus

4 Sep

I’ve been thinking for a while that I’d like to write a paper or do a talk on ‘Jesus:  The Feminist’.   I’m not sure who would read or listen to what I have to say, but practising my arguments helps pass the time when I should be doing other things like work!  In the interests of research the other day I drew on the best of academic resources available to me….Google.  Firstly, I read a very articulate article on Jesus as a feminist which made me think I still need to polish my own rants.  Secondly I found a disgusting, offensive and totally abhorant website basically conveying the author’s opinion that women are second-class citizens in God’s Kingdom.  Nick, my husband, immediately told me to leave the site in concern that I may engage in one of my tirades – website tourettes – against the ‘author’.  It was just so inticing to read though!  The arguments put across were irrational, unbiblical and stank of misogyny.  My favourite line had to be “Not one man has ever had an abortion!” as seeming justification that men are righteous before God and women evil.  I think he failed to perceive the anatomical limitations of his argument somehow.

Sadly this kind of attitude, although in this case very extreme, seems to underline so much of the Christian thinking I have encoutered.  From the raised eyebrows of  ‘Oh so you used to be your husband’s line manager’ to the ‘feminism is from satan’ I have struggled to equate the Jesus I read of in the gospels with the one that thinks I am a little less (or in some cases a lot less) valuable than a man.  In the words of George Orwell  “All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others

So what to do?  Give it all up?  succumb to the call of home-baking, home-making, baby-making, baby-rearing, always endearing, hospitable, unflappable, unintelligible, unquestioning wife and mother? (Not that I think being a ‘stay at home’ mummy is in any way wrong – just not very me!)  I am afraid I can’t – much to my husband’s and daughter’s relief (I really can’t cook well).  Onwards with the challenge in the belief that equality, fairness and justice are at the very heart of God.

4 Responses to “Feminist Jesus”

  1. Claire Estall September 4, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    Love it!
    You articlate things so well, just how I wish I could communicate them!

    The I ponder on this subject the hurt I feel that I have to decide on career/living my dream or wife. I have an amazing hubby that supports me all the way ad wants to me to live my life in all the ways I can…. But when I am doing it, I do with a big guilt feeling that I am not a good wife, and can feel the questions on people’s lips that they are just dying to know why I am not having kids and serving my hubby as he has a call to ministry… gggrrr! never really know how to express how I feel about it….
    but reading your stuff does help!… might need another starbucks morning with you?
    Thinking of you… keep ranting!

    Love Claire xxx

    • ruthwells September 4, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

      Glad I’m not alone in this! Coffee sounds wonderful….have some great news x

  2. Erah May 23, 2011 at 5:45 am #

    As Christians, as Jesus believers, we must speak or no one will hear us. Onward, let us continue to spread the Good News: SALVATION IS FOR ALL GOD’S CREATIONS! Anyway, Jesus said to the woman, “Truly I tell you, wherever this good news is proclaimed in the whole world, what she has done will be told in remembrance of her.” (Matthew 26:13 & Mark 14:9).

    Keep up my sister…

  3. Erah May 23, 2011 at 5:48 am #

    I am in the process of a new blog, womanclergy@wordpress.com. You may visit. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

